Dream – 5th June 2015

Found another dream amongst my philosophy notes from last year. This one was about Avatar: the Last Airbender. If you have never watched it, then it is a brilliant kids animated tv series about a world where some people have powers to control one of the four elements, so there are four types of benders. The fire nation has taken over most of the world and wiped out all of the airbenders, except one boy named Aang, who also happens to be the Avatar, one who can master all four elements. Katara is a water bender who befriends him, and Zuko is the firebending prince who is set on capturing the Avatar. It all sounds very cheesy but I assure you it is brilliant! Every now and again I rewatch the series and it is still very funny and still makes me cry in certain parts.

5th June – I had a dream about Avatar, but Aang wasn’t in it. Water bending was dangerous and sharp and firebending was warm and welcoming. Zuko’s tribe was trapped in ruins covered in ice. Katara ran away from their overly-powerful and overly-strict tribe and Katara falls intro the ice and meets Zuko. She pretends to be a fire bender by manipulating the water molecules in the air around the flames to make them flicker. They all think she’s weak.

I didn’t write a very good description – I have a feeling I may have been half-asleep when writing this down – but I remember a little of this dream and how it was all about sensations. Ice was not cold, but sharp and needle-like. It flew past me and I could feel it piercing even though it didn’t hit me. But fire was warm and all-encompassing. It wrapped me up and flickered over me and inside me, the way you would expect fire to be comsuming, but in a comforting way, the warmth was strong but not burning, like when you wake up in the morning covered in duvets and are too warm but far too comfortable to move. The action part of the dream didn’t feel like action, but more like textures; the suffocating tenacity of Katara’s tribe leader, the powdery feeling of the snowstorm, and the hard, flat and smooth ice which she falls onto. Even with the demonstration of her weak ‘firebending’ it felt like I was moving with the molecules instead of from the view of one of the characters.

Leave a Reply

